Aesop Rock - The Impossible Kid

Aesop Rock continues finding new ways to improve on the skills that have made him so unique. On The Impossible Kid, released in 2016, his creative process revealed more willingness to open up about his personal life, going deep on topics like depression, rocky relationships, and a turbulent period of time that culminated in leaving his adopted home of San Francisco to live in a barn out in the woods. That barn was where he recorded the foundations of The Impossible Kid. The album isn’t overly morose though. There are also moments of levity throughout, as Aesop taps into the funny side of his persona that he’d suppressed during the period where being taken as a serious lyricist was more of a priority.

"[Aesop Rock] is a visual artist in his way, coiling carefully articulated sentences into diagrams, each syllable a pixel in the frame of an image. He sketches in vibrant detail on The Impossible Kid, balancing heavy verbiage with sharp clarity. This is what it sounds like when rap’s greatest wordsmith only uses the ones that count […]. But The Impossible Kid is measured by more than its virtuosity. The soundbeds of dizzying synth abstractions, ominous piano crawls, and slow-strutting garage rock samples, all provided by Aesop Rock himself, are monuments to his growing skills as a producer. He is as detail-oriented with his beats as he is with his raps, providing the right mood at every occasion. Some of them are busy and swarming, while others are pleasantly simple, like “Lotta Years,” giving Aesop the room to set up dialogue. Then there are beats that are simply hard-hitting, like “Rabies” and “Water Tower,” with slapping drums that seem traditional until they stagger. These all supplement his writing, which is as crisp and as fluid as it has ever been, bending breakbeats to the whims of his strung-out cadences. Aesop Rock has yet to run out of words. After nearly 20-years in the rap game, he is still finding new means of self-expression.”

All orders will receive a digital download of the full album including bonus tracks “Syrup feat. Homeboy Sandman & Open Mike Eagle” & “Dorks [Blockhead Remix]”

Vinyl Packaging includes 2xLP Green & Pink Neon Colored Vinyl, Custom Die Cut Jacket, 3"x4" Double Sided Fold Out Poster, Two Illustrated Record Sleeves & Full Album Lyrics.

CD Packaging Includes Custom Die Cut Slipcase with 24-Panel Double Sided Fold Out Poster, Illustrated CD Sleeve and Full Album Lyrics.


    1. Mystery Fish
    2. Rings
    3. Lotta Years 
    4. Dorks
    5. Rabies 
    6. Supercell
    7. Blood Sandwich
    8. Get Out of the Car
    9. Shrunk
    10. Kirby
    11. TUFF 
    12. Lazy Eye 
    13. Defender 
    14. Water Tower
    15. Molecules
    16. *Syrup feat. Homeboy Sandman & Open Mike Eagle (Bonus Track)
    17. *Dorks [Blockhead Remix] (Bonus Track)